Контакты/Проезд  Доставка и Оплата Помощь/Возврат
История
  +7(495) 980-12-10
  10:00-20:00 пн-пт 11-18 сб
  shop@logobook.ru
   
    Поиск книг                    Поиск по списку ISBN Расширенный поиск    
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Специальные предложения | Бестселлеры
 

Glass Castle, Walls



Варианты приобретения
Цена: 1108р.
Кол-во:
Наличие: Есть (1 шт.)
Отгрузка заказа в течение 1 рабочего дня
Добавить в корзину
в Мои желания

Автор: Walls
Название:  Glass Castle   (Стеклянный замок)
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Издательство: Scribner Book Company
Классификация:
ISBN: 1416544666
ISBN-13(EAN): 9781416544661
ISBN: 1-416-54466-6
ISBN-13(EAN): 978-1-416-54466-1
Обложка/Формат: Mass Market Paperbound
Вес: 0.204 кг.
Язык: English
Размер: 17.02 x 10.41 x 2.79
Поставляется из: США
Описание: In the tradition of Mary Karrs The Liars Club and Rick Braggs All Over But the Shouting, Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his childrens imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and couldnt stand the responsibility of providing for her family, called herself an excitement addict. Cooking a meal that would be consumed in fifteen minutes had no appeal when she could make a painting that might last forever.

Later, when the money ran out, or the romance of the wandering life faded, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town -- and the family -- Rex Walls had done everything he could to escape. He drank. He stole the grocery money and disappeared for days. As the dysfunction of the family escalated, Jeannette and her brother and sisters had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they weathered their parents betrayals and, finally, found the resources and will to leave home.

What is so astonishing about Jeannette Walls is not just that she had the guts and tenacity and intelligence to get out, but that she describes her parents with such deep affection and generosity. Hers is a story of triumph against all odds, but also a tender, moving tale of unconditional love in a family that despite its profound flaws gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life on her own terms.

For two decades, Jeannette Walls hid her roots. Now she tells her own story. A regular contributor to MSNBC.com, she lives in New York and Long Island and is married to the writer John Taylor.




Glass castle

Автор: Walls,Jeannette
Название: Glass castle
ISBN: 1844081826 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781844081820
Издательство: Little, Brown
Рейтинг:
Цена: 914 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: `Walls has carved a story with precision and grace out of one of the most chaotic, heart-breaking childhoods... This deeply affecting memoir is a triumph in every possible way, and it does what all good books should: it affirms our faith in the human spir

If Walls Could Talk

Автор: Worsley Lucy
Название: If Walls Could Talk
ISBN: 0571259545 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780571259540
Издательство: Faber
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1200 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Why did the flushing toilet take two centuries to catch on? Why did Samuel Pepys never give his mistresses an orgasm? Why did medieval people sleep sitting up? Why did gas lighting cause Victorian ladies to faint? Why, for centuries, did people fear fruit? In this book, all these questions - and more - are answered.

Walk Through Walls

Автор: Abramovic Marina
Название: Walk Through Walls
ISBN: 0241235642 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780241235645
Издательство: Random House - Penguin
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1848 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: Her bravest work of performance art to date... Rawly intimate' ObserverThis memoir spans Marina Abramovic's five decade career, and tells a life story that is almost as exhilarating and extraordinary as her groundbreaking performance art. Taking us from her early life in communist ex-Yugoslavia, to her time as a young art student in Belgrade in the 1970s, where she first made her mark with a series of pieces that used the body as a canvas, the book also describes her relationship with the West German performance artist named Ulay who was her lover and sole collaborator for 12 years. Abramovic has collaborated with stars from Lady Gaga to Jay-Z, James Franco and Willem Dafoe. Best known for her recent pieces 'The Artist is Present' and '512 Hours', this book is a fascinating insight into the life of one of the most important artists working today, and the woman who has been described as 'the grandmother of performance art'.

Inside The Walls Of Troy

Автор: Mclaren
Название: Inside The Walls Of Troy
ISBN: 0689873972 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780689873973
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Цена: 665 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Two women, one war.

Helen, at age twelve, is not prepared to deal with her famous beauty: to have the face that will launch a thousand ships, kill fifty thousand men, and cause the fall of the world's greatest city. But when she is kidnapped by Theseus of Athens, she begins her journey into womanhood and finds passion strong enough to start the Trojan War.

Cassandra has the gift, or curse, to predict the future. When she forsees the ruin of her family and city that Helen's arrival in Troy will cause, she is outraged. Yet she cannot help being drawn to Helen.

As the war rages around them, Helen, the woman who started the conflict, and Cassandra, the one who foresaw it, develop a deep friendship. And through their eyes we see the Trojan War in a fascinating new way.

White Walls

Автор: Tolstaya, Tatyana
Название: White Walls
ISBN: 1590171977 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781590171974
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Рейтинг:
Цена: от 1215 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть

Описание: The Collected Stories. Translated by Jamey Gambrell.

If The Walls Could Talk

Автор: O`Connor
Название: If The Walls Could Talk
ISBN: 0689868634 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780689868634
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Цена: 1478 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: In case you've ever wondered, the walls at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue have eyes and ears -- and, what's more, they don't miss a thing. Now, listen up because the walls have a thing or two to tell you

During President John Tyler's presidency, the White House was such a mess that it was called the "Public Shabby House."

President William Howard Taft was so large that he had to have a jumbo-size bathtub installed -- one big enough for four people.

President Andrew Jackson's "open door" policy at the White House resulted in 20,000 people showing up for his inauguration party. (The new president escaped to the quiet of a nearby hotel )

President Abraham Lincoln didn't mind at all that his younger sons, Tad and Willie, kept pet goats in their White House bedrooms.

Children all across the country sent in their own money to build an indoor swimming pool for wheelchair-bound President Franklin D. Roosevelt so that he could exercise.

President Harry S. Truman knew it was time to renovate the White House after a leg on his daughter's piano broke right through the floor.

Hear these funny, surprising stories and more about the most famous home in America and the extraordinary families who have lived in it.

The Walls of Cartagena

Автор: Durango Julia
Название: The Walls of Cartagena
ISBN: 1416941029 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781416941026
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Цена: 1182 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Calepino was blessed with good fortune. After his mother died giving birth to him on a slave ship, he was taken in by a wealthy woman who gave him every advantage. Then on his thirteenth birthday, Father Pedro, a devout priest, asks Calepino to assist him with the slaves coming into Cartagena. Soon he's fighting seasickness, living in squalor, and cursing every minute. That all begins to change when he meets Mara and Tomi, a mother and son who remind him of his own past.
When Tomi and Mara are sold to a cruel man, Calepino is more determined than ever to find a way to save them. Will this be his chance to change someone else's fortune, or will he put them all in more peril?
Richly detailed and researched, Julia Durango's gripping first novel brings to life what it means to be truly free.

Walls of Babylon

Название: Walls of Babylon
ISBN: 1423110064 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781423110064
Издательство: Hachette Book Group
Цена: 369 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: An all-new 144-page Original Fiction adventure based on the upcoming Disney Films soon-to-be-blockbuster, Prince of Persia !

Cat Who Walks Through Walls

Автор: Heinlein Robert A.
Название: Cat Who Walks Through Walls
ISBN: 0441094996 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780441094998
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 615 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Framed for murder, married to the exquisite Gwen Novak, fleeing for his life in the Wild West free enterprise zones of the moon, Colonel Colin Campbell (23rd century writer, traveller and bon viveur) is pursued by mysterious forces. Heinlein is also the author of "Stranger in a Strange Land".

Tearing Down The Walls

Автор: Langley
Название: Tearing Down The Walls
ISBN: 0743247264 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743247269
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Рейтинг:
Цена: 2143 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Traces the life and career of the financial mogul from his early days as a disadvantaged Brooklyn son of Jewish immigrants to his entrepreneurial triumphs with Solomon Smith Barney and Citigroup. Reprint. 35,000 first printing.

The Walls of the Universe

Автор: Melko Paul
Название: The Walls of the Universe
ISBN: 0765359650 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780765359650
Издательство: Holtzbrink(MPS)/MPS
Цена: 591 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Planting green roofs and living walls

Автор: Kingsbury, Noel Dunnett, Nigel
Название: Planting green roofs and living walls
ISBN: 0881929115 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780881929119
Издательство: Неизвестно
Рейтинг:
Цена: 2989 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: Describes and illustrates techniques required to design, implement and maintain a green roof or wall to professional standards. This book explains how roofs may be modified to bear the weight of vegetation, and discusses different options for drainage layers and growing media, and lists the plants suitable for different climates and environments.


ООО "Логосфера " Тел:+7(495) 980-12-10 www.logobook.ru
   В Контакте     В Контакте Мед  Мобильная версия