Контакты/Адрес/Проезд   Доставка и Оплата
История
  +7(495) 980-12-10
  10:00-18:00 пн-сб
  shop@logobook.ru
   
    Поиск книг                    Поиск по списку ISBN Расширенный поиск    
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Специальные предложения | Бестселлеры
 
Читайте отзывы покупателей и оценивайте качество магазина на Яндекс.Маркете
Информация
Online Каталоги
Каталог учебной литературы
по английскому языку >>>

Каталог учебной литературы
по английскому языку >>>


Why Zebras Don`t Get Ulcers, Sapolsky Robert M.


View InsideDocument

Варианты приобретения
Цена: 1524р.
Кол-во:
Наличие: Ожидается поступление.
Ожидаемая дата поступления на склад: 16 дек 2019

Добавить в корзину
в Мои желания
Автор: Sapolsky Robert M.
Название:  Why Zebras Don`t Get Ulcers   (Роберт Сапольски: Почему зебры не болеют язвой)
Издательство: Holtzbrink(MPS)/MPS
Классификация:
Семья и здоровье

ISBN: 0805073698
ISBN-13(EAN): 9780805073690
ISBN: 0-8050-7369-8
ISBN-13(EAN): 978-0-8050-7369-0
Обложка/Формат: Paperback
Страницы: 539
Вес: 0.544 кг.
Дата издания: 31.01.2004
Язык: ENG
Издание: New ed
Иллюстрации: Illustrations
Размер: 23.37 x 15.39 x 2.57 cm
Читательская аудитория: General (us: trade)
Рейтинг:
Поставляется из: США
Описание: A distinguished primatologist explains how prolonged stress causes or intensifies a range of physical and mental afflictions, including ulcers, colitis, heart disease, depression, and memory loss, and addresses how to combat it. Reprint. 30,000 first printing.



      Старое издание

Primate`s Memoir

Автор: Sapolsky, Robert M
Название: Primate`s Memoir
ISBN: 0099285770 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780099285779
Издательство: Random House
Рейтинг:
Цена: 767 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: `I had never planned to become a Savannah baboon when I grew up; instead I assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,` writes the author in this chronicle of a scientist`s coming of age in remote Africa. He writes about people and their society as he does about animals and theirs.

Monkeyluv

Автор: Sapolsky, Robert M.
Название: Monkeyluv
ISBN: 0099474557 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780099474555
Издательство: Random House
Рейтинг:
Цена: 767 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Aiming to present the human animal in all its diversity, this work tells us who, why and how we are. It touches on themes such as sexuality, aggression, love, parenting, religion, ageing, and mental illness. It also ponders such topics as our need to seek out beauty; why our preferences in food become fixed; and more.

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Автор: Sapolsky, Robert
Название: Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
ISBN: 1847922163 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781847922168
Издательство: Random House
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1536 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Why do we do what we do? This book presents a majestic synthesis of the whole science of human behaviour. Brought to life through simple language, engaging stories and irreverent wit, it offers the fullest picture yet of the origins of tribalism and xenophobia, hierarchy and competition, morality and free will, war and peace.

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst

Автор: Sapolsky Robert M.
Название: Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
ISBN: 1594205078 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781594205071
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Рейтинг:
Цена: 2244 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Named a Best Book of the Year by The Washington Post and The Wall Street Journal

"It has my vote for science book of the year." --Parul Sehgal, The New York Times

"Hands-down one of the best books I've read in years. I loved it." --Dina Temple-Raston, The Washington Post

"It's no exaggeration to say that Behave is one of the best nonfiction books I've ever read." --David P. Barash, The Wall Street Journal

From the celebrated neurobiologist and primatologist, a landmark, genre-defining examination of human behavior, both good and bad, and an answer to the question: Why do we do the things we do?

Sapolsky's storytelling concept is delightful but it also has a powerful intrinsic logic: he starts by looking at the factors that bear on a person's reaction in the precise moment a behavior occurs, and then hops back in time from there, in stages, ultimately ending up at the deep history of our species and its evolutionary legacy.

And so the first category of explanation is the neurobiological one. A behavior occurs--whether an example of humans at our best, worst, or somewhere in between. What went on in a person's brain a second before the behavior happened? Then Sapolsky pulls out to a slightly larger field of vision, a little earlier in time: What sight, sound, or smell caused the nervous system to produce that behavior? And then, what hormones acted hours to days earlier to change how responsive that individual is to the stimuli that triggered the nervous system? By now he has increased our field of vision so that we are thinking about neurobiology and the sensory world of our environment and endocrinology in trying to explain what happened.

Sapolsky keeps going: How was that behavior influenced by structural changes in the nervous system over the preceding months, by that person's adolescence, childhood, fetal life, and then back to his or her genetic makeup? Finally, he expands the view to encompass factors larger than one individual. How did culture shape that individual's group, what ecological factors millennia old formed that culture? And on and on, back to evolutionary factors millions of years old.

The result is one of the most dazzling tours d'horizon of the science of human behavior ever attempted, a majestic synthesis that harvests cutting-edge research across a range of disciplines to provide a subtle and nuanced perspective on why we ultimately do the things we do...for good and for ill. Sapolsky builds on this understanding to wrestle with some of our deepest and thorniest questions relating to tribalism and xenophobia, hierarchy and competition, morality and free will, and war and peace. Wise, humane, often very funny, Behave is a towering achievement, powerfully humanizing, and downright heroic in its own right.

Primate`S Memoir

Автор: Sapolsky
Название: Primate`S Memoir
ISBN: 0743202414 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743202411
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Цена: 1178 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.
I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla, writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist s coming-of-age in remote Africa.
An exhilarating account of Sapolsky s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, "A Primate s Memoir" interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects unique and compelling characters in their own right and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.
By turns hilarious and poignant, "A Primate s Memoir" is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers."

Monkeyluv

Автор: Sapolsky, Robert M.
Название: Monkeyluv
ISBN: 0224073656 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780224073653
Издательство: Random House
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1382 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Contains a collection of essays aiming to expose us as the animals that we are while explaining behaviours that are deeply and recognisably human. This book has been divided into three sections: `Our Genes and Who We Are`, `Our Bodies and Who We Are`, and `Society and Who We Are`.

Spider-man noir

Автор: Hine, David Sapolsky, Fabrice
Название: Spider-man noir
ISBN: 0785129235 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780785129233
Издательство: Hachette Book Group
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1039 р.
Наличие на складе: Нет в наличии.

Описание: The year is 1933, and New York City is not-so-secretly run by corrupt politicians, crooked cops, big businesses and suave gangland bosses like New York`s worst, the Goblin. But when a fateful spider-bite gives the young rabble-rouser Peter Parker the power to fight the mobster who killed his Uncle Ben, will even that be enough?

Monkeyluv

Автор: Sapolsky
Название: Monkeyluv
ISBN: 0743260155 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743260152
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Цена: 1663 р.
Наличие на складе: Нет в наличии.

Monkeyluv

Автор: Sapolsky
Название: Monkeyluv
ISBN: 0743260163 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743260169
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Цена: 1109 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: How do imperceptibly small differences in the environment change one's behavior? What is the anatomy of a bad mood? Does stress shrink our brains? What does "People" magazine's list of America's "50 Most Beautiful People" teach us about nature and nurture? What makes one organism sexy to another? What makes one orgasm different from another? Who will be the winner in the genetic war between the sexes?

Welcome to "Monkeyluv," a curious and entertaining collection of essays about the human animal in all its fascinating variety, from Robert M. Sapolsky, America's most beloved neurobiologist/primatologist. Organized into three sections, each tackling a Big Question in natural science, "Monkeyluv" offers a lively exploration of the influence of genes and the environment on behavior; the social and political -- and, of course, sexual -- implications of behavioral biology; and society's shaping of the individual. From the mating rituals of prairie dogs to the practice of religion in the rain forest, the secretion of pheromones to bugs in the brain, Sapolsky brilliantly synthesizes cutting-edge scientific research with wry, erudite observations about the enormous complexity of simply being human. Thoughtful, engaging, and infused with pop-cultural insights, this collection will appeal to the inner monkey in all of us.


ООО "Логосфера " Тел:+7(495) 980-12-10 www.logobook.ru
   В Контакте  Мобильная версия