Контакты/Проезд  Доставка и Оплата Помощь/Возврат
История
  +7(495) 980-12-10
  пн-пт: 10-18
  shop@logobook.ru
   
    Поиск книг                    Поиск по списку ISBN Расширенный поиск    
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Акции | Cертификаты | Хиты | | |
 

The Russian Ecclesiastical Mission in Peking During the Eighteenth Century, Widmer



Сейчас книги нет в продаже.
Возможно появится в будущем.

Автор: Widmer
Название:  The Russian Ecclesiastical Mission in Peking During the Eighteenth Century
Перевод названия: Вайдмер. Миссия русского духовенства в Пекине XVIII века
ISBN: 9780674781290
Издательство: Harvard University Press
Классификация:
ISBN-10: 0674781295
Обложка/Формат: Hardback
Страницы: 272
Вес: 0.6 кг.
Дата издания: 01.07.1990
Серия: East asian monograph
Язык: English
Иллюстрации: 1m.
Размер: 236 x 160 x 25
Читательская аудитория: Postgraduate, research & scholarly
Рейтинг:
Поставляется из: Англии



Up from Orchard Street

Автор: Widmer, Eleanor
Название: Up from Orchard Street
ISBN: 0553383736 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780553383737
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 1571 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: In the tradition of Like Water for Chocolate and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, this exhilarating novel centered around a memorable immigrant family brings to vibrant life the soul and spirit of New York's legendary Lower East Side.

Up from Orchard Street...

...where three generations of Roths live together in a crowded tenement flat at number 12. Long-widowed Manya is the family's head and its heart: mother of dapper Jack, mother-in-law of frail and beautiful Lil, and adored bubby of Elka and Willy. She's renowned throughout the teeming neighborhood for her mouthwatering cooking, and every noontime the front room of the flat turns into Manya's private restaurant, where the local merchants come to savor her hearty stews and soups, succulent potato latkes and tzimmes, preserved fruits and glorious pastries.

She is just as renowned for her fierce sense of honor, her quick eye for charlatans, and her generosity to those in need. But Manya is no soft touch-except, perhaps, where her adored granddaughter Elka is concerned. It is skinny, precocious Elka who is her closest companion and confidante-and the narrator of this event-packed novel. Through Elka's eyes we come to know the fascinating characters who come in and out of the Roths' lives: relatives, eccentric locals, doctors, busybody neighbors-as well as the many men who try fruitlessly to win voluptuous Manya's favors. We live through the bittersweet world of these blunt, earthy, feisty people for whom poverty was endemic, illness common, crises frequent, and zest for living intense. Money may have been short but opinions were not, and their tart tongues and lively humor invest every page. In this riveting story lies the heart of the American immigrant experience: a novel at once wise, funny, poignant, anguishing, exultant-and bursting with love.

From the Hardcover edition.

Martin Van Buren: The American Presidents Series: The 8th President, 1837-1841

Автор: Widmer Ted, Schlesinger Arthur Meier Jr., Widmer E
Название: Martin Van Buren: The American Presidents Series: The 8th President, 1837-1841
ISBN: 0805069224 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780805069228
Издательство: Holtzbrink(MPS)/MPS
Цена: 3291 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание:

The first president born after America's independence ushers in a new era of no-holds-barred democracy

The first "professional politician" to become president, the slick and dandyish Martin Van Buren was to all appearances the opposite of his predecessor, the rugged general and Democratic champion Andrew Jackson. Van Buren, a native Dutch speaker, was America's first ethnic president as well as the first New Yorker to hold the office, at a time when Manhattan was bursting with new arrivals. A sharp and adroit political operator, he established himself as a powerhouse in New York, becoming a U.S. senator, secretary of state, and vice president under Jackson, whose election he managed. His ascendancy to the Oval Office was virtually a foregone conclusion.

Once he had the reins of power, however, Van Buren found the road quite a bit rougher. His attempts to find a middle ground on the most pressing issues of his day-such as the growing regional conflict over slavery-eroded his effectiveness. But it was his inability to prevent the great banking panic of 1837, and the ensuing depression, that all but ensured his fall from grace and made him the third president to be denied a second term. His many years of outfoxing his opponents finally caught up with him.

Ted Widmer, a veteran of the Clinton White House, vividly brings to life the chaos and contention that plagued Van Buren's presidency-and ultimately offered an early lesson in the power of democracy.

" ... Widmer (Young America) paints a brief but elegant portrait of our eighth president, who, Widmer says, created the modern political party system, for which he deserves our 'grudging respect.' " - Publishers Weekly

Fiction`s Family: Zhan XI, Zhan Kai, and the Business of Women in Late-Qing China

Автор: Widmer Ellen
Название: Fiction`s Family: Zhan XI, Zhan Kai, and the Business of Women in Late-Qing China
ISBN: 0674088379 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780674088375
Издательство: Harvard University Press
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5471 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: "Explores the writings of one western Zhejiang literary family whose works were emblematic of shifting attitudes towards women. Placing this family at the center of this study, the author illuminates the bridge between the late Qing and the previous period, the interplay of genres during the family`s lifetimes, and the interaction of Shanghai publishing with other regions"--

Beauty and the book

Автор: Widmer, Ellen
Название: Beauty and the book
ISBN: 0674021460 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780674021464
Издательство: Harvard University Press
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5471 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Begins with three case studies, each of which probes one facet of the relationship between women and fiction in the early 19th Century. This book examines in turn the prefaces written by four women for a novel about women; the activities of a woman editor and writer of fiction; and writings on fiction by three leading literary women.

Listening in: The Secret White House Recordings of John F. Kennedy

Автор: Kennedy Caroline, Widmer Ted
Название: Listening in: The Secret White House Recordings of John F. Kennedy
ISBN: 1401324568 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781401324568
Издательство: Little, Brown
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5506 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: To mark John F. Kennedy's centennial, celebrate the life and legacy of the 35th President of the United States.

In July 1962, in an effort to preserve an accurate record of Presidential decision-making in a highly charged atmosphere of conflicting viewpoints, strategies and tactics, John F. Kennedy installed hidden recording systems in the Oval Office and in the Cabinet Room. The result is a priceless historical archive comprising some 265 hours of taped material. JFK was elected president when Civil Rights tensions were near the boiling point, and Americans feared a nuclear war. Confronted with complex dilemmas necessitating swift and unprecedented action, President Kennedy engaged in intense discussion and debate with his cabinet members and other advisors. Now, in conjunction with the fiftieth anniversary of the Kennedy presidency, the John F. Kennedy Library and historian Ted Widmer have carefully selected the most compelling and important of these remarkable recordings for release, fully restored and re-mastered onto two 75-minute CDs for the first time. Listening In represents a uniquely unscripted, insider account of a president and his cabinet grappling with the day-to-day business of the White House and guiding the nation through a hazardous era of uncertainty.

Accompanied by extensively annotated transcripts of the recordings, and with a foreword by Caroline Kennedy, Listening In delivers the story behind the story in the unguarded words and voices of the decision-makers themselves. Listening In covers watershed events, including the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Space Race, Vietnam, and the arms race, and offers fascinating glimpses into the intellectual methodology of a circumspect president and his brilliant, eclectic brain trust.

Just as the unique vision of President John F. Kennedy continues to resonate half a century after his stirring speeches and bold policy decisions, the documentary candor of Listening In imparts a vivid, breathtaking immediacy that will significantly expand our understanding of his time in office.

In Plain Sight: Discovering the Furniture of Nathaniel Gould

Автор: Widmer Kemble, King Joyce
Название: In Plain Sight: Discovering the Furniture of Nathaniel Gould
ISBN: 1907804331 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781907804335
Издательство: Неизвестно
Рейтинг:
Цена: 10010 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: A major addition to the study of American colonial and post-colonial furniture, and to the scholarship on Nathaniel Gould.

The Diamond Mystery #1

Автор: Widmark Martin
Название: The Diamond Mystery #1
ISBN: 0448480662 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780448480664
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 553 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

The Movie Theater Mystery #7

Автор: Martin, Widmark
Название: The Movie Theater Mystery #7
ISBN: 0448480786 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780448480787
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Рейтинг:
Цена: 553 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: Jerry and Maya are on the case again

Doodle Bug is the third dog that has mysteriously disappeared in Pleasant Valley. But the police chief has no idea who the dog-napper might be. When Jerry and Maya hear strange sounds coming from the basement of the Rio Cinema, they quickly realize it just might be a clue. Can Pleasant Valley's doggy detectives get to the bottom of this canine caper?

The Swimming Pool Mystery #6

Автор: Widmark Martin
Название: The Swimming Pool Mystery #6
ISBN: 0448480778 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780448480770
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 1293 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

The Hotel Mystery #2

Автор: Widmark Martin
Название: The Hotel Mystery #2
ISBN: 0448480689 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780448480688
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 553 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

The Mummy Mystery #5

Автор: Widmark Martin
Название: The Mummy Mystery #5
ISBN: 0448480751 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780448480756
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1293 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: What's going on at the art museum in Pleasant Valley? Did the Egyptian mummy really come to life after 3,000 years? The terrified night watchman claims that he saw the mummy walking around the museum. The very same night, the most valuable painting in the museum was cut out of its frame. Once again, young detectives Jerry and Maya are called in by the chief of police to get to the bottom of the strange and spooky events.

The Cafe Mystery #4

Автор: Widmark Martin
Название: The Cafe Mystery #4
ISBN: 0448480727 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780448480725
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Рейтинг:
Цена: 553 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: A robber has struck at Cafe Marzipan, Pleasant Valley`s best bakery, three times in the past year! And as usual, the police chief has no clue as to who the clever culprit might be. Once again, he calls upon the super sleuthing skills of best friends Jerry and Maya to help him catch the tricky thief. Will they be able to catch the robber?


ООО "Логосфера " Тел:+7(495) 980-12-10 www.logobook.ru
   В Контакте     В Контакте Мед  Мобильная версия