Контакты/Адрес/Проезд   Доставка и Оплата
История
  +7(495) 980-12-10
  10:00-18:00 пн-сб
  shop@logobook.ru
   
    Поиск книг                    Поиск по списку ISBN Расширенный поиск    
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Специальные предложения | Бестселлеры
 
Информация
Online Каталоги
Каталог учебной литературы
по английскому языку >>>

Каталог учебной литературы
по английскому языку >>>


Farewell to Reality: How Modern Physics Has Betrayed the Search for Scientific Truth, Baggott Jim



Сейчас книги нет в продаже.
Возможно появится в будущем.

Автор: Baggott Jim
Название:  Farewell to Reality: How Modern Physics Has Betrayed the Search for Scientific Truth   (Джим Баггот: Прощай, реальность: как современная физика предала поиск научной истины)
Издательство: Pegasus Books
Классификация:
ISBN: 1605984728
ISBN-13(EAN): 9781605984728
ISBN: 1-60598-472-8
ISBN-13(EAN): 978-1-60598-472-8
Обложка/Формат: Hardcover
Страницы: 336
Дата издания: 01.08.2013
Язык: ENG
Поставляется из: США
Описание: In this stunning new volume, Jim Baggott argues that there is no observational or experimental evidence for many of the ideas of modern theoretical physics: super-symmetric particles, super strings, the multiverse, the holographic principle, or the anthropic cosmological principle. These theories are not only untrue, it is not even science. It is fairy-tale physics: fantastical, bizarre and often outrageous, perhaps even confidence-trickery.This book provides a much-needed antidote. Informed, comprehensive, and balanced, it offers lay readers the latest ideas about the nature of physical reality while clearly distinguishing between fact and fantasy. With its engaging portraits of many central figures of modern physics, including Paul Davies, John Barrow, Brian Greene, Stephen Hawking, and Leonard Susskind, it promises to be essential reading forall readers interested in what we know and dont know about the nature of the universe and reality itself.



A Beginner`s Guide to Reality

Автор: Jim Baggott
Название: A Beginner`s Guide to Reality
ISBN: 0141019301 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780141019307
Издательство: Penguin Books Ltd
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1086 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: A Beginner`s Guide to Reality is an introduction to philosophy for people who don`t read philosophy. Jim Baggott`s sources range from Aristotle to The Matrix. He examines the major developments in Western philosophical thought on the nature of reality, at each of three levels social, perceptual and physical.

The Prince of Fenway Park

Автор: Baggott Julianna
Название: The Prince of Fenway Park
ISBN: 006087242X ISBN-13(EAN): 9780060872427
Издательство: HarperCollins USA
Цена: 1177 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: There was a curse, it was reversed—and this is the boy who did it.

How to predict the future

Автор: Mendoza, Staci Baggott, Andy Bourne, David
Название: How to predict the future
ISBN: 1844765873 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781844765874
Издательство: Неизвестно
Рейтинг:
Цена: 540 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: How To Predict The Future is a clear, practical guide to a complex subject. Expert instruction and beautiful illustrations will guide the reader, step-by-step, into a life full of understanding, promise and change.

Pure

Автор: Baggott Julianna
Название: Pure
ISBN: 0755385489 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780755385485
Издательство: Hodder
Цена: 1378 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

How to Read and Interpret the Runes

Автор: Baggott Andy
Название: How to Read and Interpret the Runes
ISBN: 0754825795 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780754825791
Издательство: Неизвестно
Рейтинг:
Цена: 956 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: The runic alphabets were devised by early Germanic societies in the 1st century AD, and were later used as a means of gaining deeper understanding of life through divination. This book offers an introduction to the use of runic alphabet for divination, protection and healing, and offers a path to spiritual understanding that anyone can tread.

Farewell to Reality

Автор: Baggott Jim
Название: Farewell to Reality
ISBN: 1780334923 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781780334929
Издательство: Little, Brown
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1287 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: A controversial popular science title in which Jim Baggott asks whether all that we currently know about the universe is based upon science or fantasy.

Miss America Family

Автор: Baggott
Название: Miss America Family
ISBN: 074342297X ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743422970
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1452 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Pixie Kitchy was once Miss New Jersey. Now she's married to a dentist, an ex-quarterback in turtled golf pants. Her ten-year-old daughter, Mitzie, wears Bo-peep pincurls and twirls baton. Her sixteen-year-old son, Ezra, the person who knows her best, is caught up in his fling with the podiatrist's daughter. And Pixie is consumed by the past. She confides, "I was a housewife, and I became dangerous. Sometimes it's the only way possible to regain footing in the world." In this high-wire mixture of absurdity and pathos, hilarity and darkness, one American family finds out that there is no such thing as the perfect American family, and, for better or for worse, they come together and start anew.

Madam

Автор: Baggott
Название: Madam
ISBN: 0743454588 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743454582
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1521 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: West Virginia, 1924: Alma works in a hosiery mill where the percussive roar of machinery has far too long muffled the engine that is her heart. When Alma's husband decides that they should set out to find their fortune in Florida, Alma has little choice but to leave her three children and ailing mother behind. But when Alma is then abandoned at a Miami dock, she is suddenly forced to make her own way in the world. With the help of a gentle giantess and an opium-addicted prostitute, Alma reclaims her children from the orphanage and forges ahead with an altogether new sort of family. As an act of survival, she chooses to run a house of prostitution, a harvest that relies on lust and weakness in men, of which "the world has a generous, unending supply."
The Madam is the story of a house of sin. It is here where Alma's children will learn everything there is to know about "love and loss, sex and betrayal." Based on the real life of the author's grandmother, The Madam is a tale of epic proportions, one that will haunt readers long after its stunning conclusion.

Burn

Автор: Baggott Julianna
Название: Burn
ISBN: 0755385586 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780755385584
Издательство: Hodder
Рейтинг:
Цена: 919 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: The final part in the PURE trilogy for fans of THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD and THE HUNGER GAMES.

Girl Talk

Автор: Baggott
Название: Girl Talk
ISBN: 0743400836 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780743400831
Издательство: Simon & Schuster
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1313 р.
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Lissy Jablonski was fifteen during the summer of 1985. That was the summer her father, a soft-spoken gynecologist, up and left her mother for a redheaded bank teller. The same summer Lissy and her mother disappeared from their quiet New Hampshire lives to have an adventure of their own amid a cast of unlikely characters, including a Valium-addicted ex-debutante and a suspected mobster. The summer the reliably comforting "girl talks" with her mother began to reveal startling secrets.
Now an almost-thirty-year-old advertising executive in Manhattan, faced with her father's imminent death and newly pregnant by her married ex-lover, an unmoored Lissy finds herself looking back across the years. Contending with her affections for an old flame and his doomed marriage to a Korean stripper named Kitty Hawk, as well as the tangible legacies of that unmentionable summer with her mother, she realizes that she has become more like her mother than she ever could have imagined.

Burn

Автор: Baggott Julianna
Название: Burn
ISBN: 075538556X ISBN-13(EAN): 9780755385560
Издательство: Hodder
Цена: 1195 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Pure

Автор: Baggott, Julianna
Название: Pure
ISBN: 1455503061 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781455503063
Издательство: Hachette Book Group
Цена: 1801 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.


ООО "Логосфера " Тел:+7(495) 980-12-10 www.logobook.ru
   В Контакте     В Контакте Мед  Мобильная версия