Контакты/Проезд  Доставка и Оплата Помощь/Возврат
История
  +7(495) 980-12-10
  пн-пт: 10-18
  shop@logobook.ru
   
    Поиск книг                    Поиск по списку ISBN Расширенный поиск    
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Акции | Cертификаты | Хиты | | |
 

Fiction`s Family: Zhan XI, Zhan Kai, and the Business of Women in Late-Qing China, Widmer Ellen



Варианты приобретения
Цена: 5471р.
Кол-во:
 о цене
Наличие: Отсутствует. Возможна поставка под заказ.

При оформлении заказа до: 8 сен 2022
Ориентировочная дата поставки: конец Сентября- начало Октября
При условии наличия книги у поставщика.

Заказ пока невозможен
в Мои желания

Автор: Widmer Ellen
Название:  Fiction`s Family: Zhan XI, Zhan Kai, and the Business of Women in Late-Qing China
ISBN: 9780674088375
Издательство: Harvard University Press
Классификация:
ISBN-10: 0674088379
Обложка/Формат: Hardback
Страницы: 340
Вес: 0.622 кг.
Дата издания: 14.03.2016
Серия: Harvard-yenching institute monograph series
Язык: English
Иллюстрации: Illustrations
Размер: 163 x 244 x 29
Читательская аудитория: General (us: trade)
Подзаголовок: Zhan xi, zhan kai, and the business of women in late-qing china
Рейтинг:
Поставляется из: Англии



Beauty and the book

Автор: Widmer, Ellen
Название: Beauty and the book
ISBN: 0674021460 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780674021464
Издательство: Harvard University Press
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5471 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: Begins with three case studies, each of which probes one facet of the relationship between women and fiction in the early 19th Century. This book examines in turn the prefaces written by four women for a novel about women; the activities of a woman editor and writer of fiction; and writings on fiction by three leading literary women.

In Plain Sight: Discovering the Furniture of Nathaniel Gould

Автор: Widmer Kemble, King Joyce
Название: In Plain Sight: Discovering the Furniture of Nathaniel Gould
ISBN: 1907804331 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781907804335
Издательство: Неизвестно
Рейтинг:
Цена: 10010 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: A major addition to the study of American colonial and post-colonial furniture, and to the scholarship on Nathaniel Gould.

Автор: Widmer
Название: The Russian Ecclesiastical Mission in Peking During the Eighteenth Century
ISBN: 0674781295 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780674781290
Издательство: Harvard University Press
Рейтинг:
Цена: р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание:

This book is the first analytical treatment in any language of the "most durable 'sino-foreign' institution in modern Chinese history." It traces the beginnings of a Russian-Orthodox presence in Peking several decades back before the commonly held date of its origin. It also shows how the news of the plight of prisoners from the Russian fortress of Albazin (taken by the Ch'ing in 1685) was transmitted back to Russia, and how the indecisiveness of the official Russian response colored the entire subsequent history of the mission. The chapters on the Orthodox missionary life in Peking and on the institutions of the mission provide us with new insight into life in the Ch'ing capital.

The tentative beginnings of Russian scholarly and scientific interest in Chinese matters, an outgrowth of the missionary presence in Peking, are also discussed. The book tackles an especially difficult case, for by ordinary standards the Russian ecclesiastical mission was a failure, not a success. The monks and students were an unruly lot, the mission itself never functioned as a full diplomatic institution, and the Chinese frequently treated the missionaries with neglect or disdain.

Yet, as the author demonstrates, even this apparent failure had a purpose. The mission served to maintain a minimal contact between the two empires throughout a long period of conflicting ambitions and actions in the Inner Asian theater.

Martin Van Buren: The American Presidents Series: The 8th President, 1837-1841

Автор: Widmer Ted, Schlesinger Arthur Meier Jr., Widmer E
Название: Martin Van Buren: The American Presidents Series: The 8th President, 1837-1841
ISBN: 0805069224 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780805069228
Издательство: Holtzbrink(MPS)/MPS
Цена: 3291 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание:

The first president born after America's independence ushers in a new era of no-holds-barred democracy

The first "professional politician" to become president, the slick and dandyish Martin Van Buren was to all appearances the opposite of his predecessor, the rugged general and Democratic champion Andrew Jackson. Van Buren, a native Dutch speaker, was America's first ethnic president as well as the first New Yorker to hold the office, at a time when Manhattan was bursting with new arrivals. A sharp and adroit political operator, he established himself as a powerhouse in New York, becoming a U.S. senator, secretary of state, and vice president under Jackson, whose election he managed. His ascendancy to the Oval Office was virtually a foregone conclusion.

Once he had the reins of power, however, Van Buren found the road quite a bit rougher. His attempts to find a middle ground on the most pressing issues of his day-such as the growing regional conflict over slavery-eroded his effectiveness. But it was his inability to prevent the great banking panic of 1837, and the ensuing depression, that all but ensured his fall from grace and made him the third president to be denied a second term. His many years of outfoxing his opponents finally caught up with him.

Ted Widmer, a veteran of the Clinton White House, vividly brings to life the chaos and contention that plagued Van Buren's presidency-and ultimately offered an early lesson in the power of democracy.

" ... Widmer (Young America) paints a brief but elegant portrait of our eighth president, who, Widmer says, created the modern political party system, for which he deserves our 'grudging respect.' " - Publishers Weekly

Listening in: The Secret White House Recordings of John F. Kennedy

Автор: Kennedy Caroline, Widmer Ted
Название: Listening in: The Secret White House Recordings of John F. Kennedy
ISBN: 1401324568 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781401324568
Издательство: Little, Brown
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5506 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: To mark John F. Kennedy's centennial, celebrate the life and legacy of the 35th President of the United States.

In July 1962, in an effort to preserve an accurate record of Presidential decision-making in a highly charged atmosphere of conflicting viewpoints, strategies and tactics, John F. Kennedy installed hidden recording systems in the Oval Office and in the Cabinet Room. The result is a priceless historical archive comprising some 265 hours of taped material. JFK was elected president when Civil Rights tensions were near the boiling point, and Americans feared a nuclear war. Confronted with complex dilemmas necessitating swift and unprecedented action, President Kennedy engaged in intense discussion and debate with his cabinet members and other advisors. Now, in conjunction with the fiftieth anniversary of the Kennedy presidency, the John F. Kennedy Library and historian Ted Widmer have carefully selected the most compelling and important of these remarkable recordings for release, fully restored and re-mastered onto two 75-minute CDs for the first time. Listening In represents a uniquely unscripted, insider account of a president and his cabinet grappling with the day-to-day business of the White House and guiding the nation through a hazardous era of uncertainty.

Accompanied by extensively annotated transcripts of the recordings, and with a foreword by Caroline Kennedy, Listening In delivers the story behind the story in the unguarded words and voices of the decision-makers themselves. Listening In covers watershed events, including the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Space Race, Vietnam, and the arms race, and offers fascinating glimpses into the intellectual methodology of a circumspect president and his brilliant, eclectic brain trust.

Just as the unique vision of President John F. Kennedy continues to resonate half a century after his stirring speeches and bold policy decisions, the documentary candor of Listening In imparts a vivid, breathtaking immediacy that will significantly expand our understanding of his time in office.

Up from Orchard Street

Автор: Widmer, Eleanor
Название: Up from Orchard Street
ISBN: 0553383736 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780553383737
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 1571 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: In the tradition of Like Water for Chocolate and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, this exhilarating novel centered around a memorable immigrant family brings to vibrant life the soul and spirit of New York's legendary Lower East Side.

Up from Orchard Street...

...where three generations of Roths live together in a crowded tenement flat at number 12. Long-widowed Manya is the family's head and its heart: mother of dapper Jack, mother-in-law of frail and beautiful Lil, and adored bubby of Elka and Willy. She's renowned throughout the teeming neighborhood for her mouthwatering cooking, and every noontime the front room of the flat turns into Manya's private restaurant, where the local merchants come to savor her hearty stews and soups, succulent potato latkes and tzimmes, preserved fruits and glorious pastries.

She is just as renowned for her fierce sense of honor, her quick eye for charlatans, and her generosity to those in need. But Manya is no soft touch-except, perhaps, where her adored granddaughter Elka is concerned. It is skinny, precocious Elka who is her closest companion and confidante-and the narrator of this event-packed novel. Through Elka's eyes we come to know the fascinating characters who come in and out of the Roths' lives: relatives, eccentric locals, doctors, busybody neighbors-as well as the many men who try fruitlessly to win voluptuous Manya's favors. We live through the bittersweet world of these blunt, earthy, feisty people for whom poverty was endemic, illness common, crises frequent, and zest for living intense. Money may have been short but opinions were not, and their tart tongues and lively humor invest every page. In this riveting story lies the heart of the American immigrant experience: a novel at once wise, funny, poignant, anguishing, exultant-and bursting with love.

From the Hardcover edition.


ООО "Логосфера " Тел:+7(495) 980-12-10 www.logobook.ru
   В Контакте     В Контакте Мед  Мобильная версия