Контакты/Проезд  Доставка и Оплата Помощь/Возврат
История
  +7(495) 980-12-10
  10:00-20:00 пн-пт 11-18 сб
  shop@logobook.ru
   
    Поиск книг                    Поиск по списку ISBN Расширенный поиск    
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Акции | Cертификаты | Хиты | |
 

Behold The Dreamers, Imbolo Mbue



Варианты приобретения
Цена: 588р.
Кол-во:
Наличие: Есть
Отгрузка заказа в течение 3-4 рабочих дней
Добавить в корзину
в Мои желания

Автор: Imbolo Mbue
Название:  Behold The Dreamers   (Мбуе. Осторожно - мечтатели)
Издательство: HarperCollins UK
Классификация:
Современная и современная художественная литература (post c 1945)

ISBN: 0008237999
ISBN-13(EAN): 9780008237998
ISBN: 0-00-823799-9
ISBN-13(EAN): 978-0-00-823799-8
Обложка/Формат: Paperback
Страницы: 400
Вес: 0.27 кг.
Дата издания: 10.08.2017
Язык: English
Размер: 197 x 128 x 26
Читательская аудитория: General (us: trade)
Подзаголовок: Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Рейтинг:
Поставляется из: Англии
Описание: WINNER OF THE 2017 PEN/FAULKNER AWARD A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR AN OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEAR AN OPRAH BOOK CLUB PICK `A formidable storyteller` Jonathan Franzen `Savage and compassionate in all the right places` New York Times Book Review



Behold the Dreamers

Автор: Mbue Imbolo
Название: Behold the Dreamers
ISBN: 0812987977 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780812987973
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 1162 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: A compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream--the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy
Winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award - A New York Times Notable Book - Longlisted for the PEN/Open Book Award - An ALA Notable Book
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR - The New York Times Book Review - San Francisco Chronicle - The Guardian - St. Louis Post-Dispatch - Chicago Public Library - BookPage - Refinery29 - Kirkus Reviews

Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers. Clark demands punctuality, discretion, and loyalty--and Jende is eager to please. Clark's wife, Cindy, even offers Neni temporary work at the Edwardses' summer home in the Hamptons. With these opportunities, Jende and Neni can at last gain a foothold in America and imagine a brighter future.
However, the world of great power and privilege conceals troubling secrets, and soon Jende and Neni notice cracks in their employers' facades.
When the financial world is rocked by the collapse of Lehman Brothers, the Jongas are desperate to keep Jende's job--even as their marriage threatens to fall apart. As all four lives are dramatically upended, Jende and Neni are forced to make an impossible choice.
Praise for Behold the Dreamers

"A debut novel by a young woman from Cameroon that illuminates the immigrant experience in America with the tenderhearted wisdom so lacking in our political discourse . . . Mbue is a bright and captivating storyteller."--The Washington Post
"A capacious, big-hearted novel."--The New York Times Book Review
"Behold the Dreamers' heart . . . belongs to the struggles and small triumphs of the Jongas, which Mbue traces in clean, quick-moving paragraphs."--Entertainment Weekly
"Mbue's writing is warm and captivating."--People (book of the week)
" Mbue's] book isn't the first work of fiction to grapple with the global financial crisis of 2007-2008, but it's surely one of the best. . . . It's a novel that depicts a country both blessed and doomed, on top of the world, but always at risk of losing its balance. It is, in other words, quintessentially American."--NPR
"This story is one that needs to be told."--Bust
"Behold the Dreamers challenges us all to consider what it takes to make us genuinely content, and how long is too long to live with our dreams deferred."--O: The Oprah Magazine

" A] beautiful, empathetic novel."--The Boston Globe
"A witty, compassionate, swiftly paced novel that takes on race, immigration, family and the dangers of capitalist excess."--St. Louis Post-Dispatch
"Mbue is] a deft, often lyrical observer. . . . Her] meticulous storytelling announces a writer in command of her gifts."--Minneapolis Star Tribune

Behold the Dreamers

Автор: Mbue Imbolo
Название: Behold the Dreamers
ISBN: 0812998480 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780812998481
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 1915 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: In the vein of Amy Tan and Khaled Hosseini comes a compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy.
Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers. Clark demands punctuality, discretion, and loyalty and Jende is eager to please. Clark s wife, Cindy, even offers Neni temporary work at the Edwardses summer home in the Hamptons. With these opportunities, Jende and Neni can at last gain a foothold in America and imagine a brighter future.
However, the world of great power and privilege conceals troubling secrets, and soon Jende and Neni notice cracks in their employers facades.
When the financial world is rocked by the collapse of Lehman Brothers, the Jongas are desperate to keep Jende s job even as their marriage threatens to fall apart. As all four lives are dramatically upended, Jende and Neni are forced to make an impossible choice.
Advance praise for "Behold the Dreamers"
Dazzling, fast-paced, and exquisitely written, "Behold the Dreamers" is one of those rare novels that will change the way you see the world. Imbolo Mbue is a breathtaking talent. Christina Baker Kline, #1 "New York Times "bestselling author of "Orphan Train"
Who is this Imbolo Mbue and where has she been hiding? Her writing is startlingly beautiful, thoughtful, and both timely and timeless. She s taking on everything from family to the Great Recession to immigration while deftly reminding us what it means to truly believe in the American Dream. Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of "Brown Girl Dreaming"
It s rare that a book is so fascinating, so emotionally compelling, and so beautiful that I literally can t put it down. I picked "Behold the Dreamers" up one evening before bed. I turned the last page at dawn. It ruined the next day for me I wasn t much good for anything but a nap but it was worth every lost hour. Ayelet Waldman, "New York Times "bestselling author of" Love and Treasure"
A beautiful book about one African couple starting a new life in a new land, "Behold the Dreamers" will teach you as much about the promise and pitfalls of life in the United States as about the immigrants who come here in search of the so-called American dream. Sonia Nazario, author of "Enrique s Journey "and" "winner of the Pulitzer Prize"

Behold the dreamers

Автор: Mbue, Imbolo
Название: Behold the dreamers
ISBN: 0008158142 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780008158149
Издательство: HarperCollins UK
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1320 р.
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Описание: A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK OF THE YEARAN OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEARA powerful and timely story of marriage, class, race and the pursuit of the American Dream. Behold the Dreamers is a dazzling debut novel about life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness - and of what we`re prepared to sacrifice to hold on to each of them.

Behold the Dreamers

Автор: Mbue Imbolo
Название: Behold the Dreamers
ISBN: 0008158118 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780008158118
Издательство: HarperCollins UK
Рейтинг:
Цена: 1320 р.
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.

Описание: A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK OF THE YEARAN OBSERVER BOOK OF THE YEAROPRAH BOOK CLUB PICK A powerful and timely story of marriage, class, race and the pursuit of the American Dream. Behold the Dreamers is a dazzling debut novel about life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness - and of what we`re prepared to sacrifice to hold on to each of them.


ООО "Логосфера " Тел:+7(495) 980-12-10 www.logobook.ru
   В Контакте     В Контакте Мед  Мобильная версия